ESSU Le Politikons bags Intercollegiate Debate Championship

Four students from AB Political Science of the Eastern Samar State University emerged victorious in the recently concluded debate on federalism led by the Department of the Interior and Local Government on April 24, 2018 at the DILG-8 Regional Training Center, Tacloban City. 

The team from ESSU toppled their counterparts in the final match from the Leyte Normal University who bagged the 1st Runner Up award. 

The final round was the culmination of 10 provincial elimination matches, 4 quarterfinals matches and 2 semifinal matches that were joined by some of the biggest colleges and universities in the region.

The team from ESSU was composed of Wences Alfon Cafe (1st Speaker), Joseph Jay Ayon (2nd Speaker), Jeric Ueno Montes (3rd Speaker), Christian Daniel Campomanes (Researcher), with Ma. Teresita Quillo and Minerva Acedillo as coaches.

Aside from the major award, the ESSU team swifted all the minor awards in the final round which include the Best Debater and Best Speaker both awarded to Mr. Montes. Ayon was also adjudged as the Best Speaker in the Semi-final round. 


Photo Credit to the DILG Reg.8